Monday, January 10, 2011

Newberry and Caldecott Award Winners Announced

The American Library Association announced the 2010 awards for children’s and young adult literature this morning at a press conference that took place during the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting!

Your quick link for all the award categories is here: 

The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

2010 Medal Winner - The 2010 Newbery Medal winner is When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead, published by Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children's Books.
Twelve-year-old Miranda encounters shifting friendships, a sudden punch, a strange homeless man and mysterious notes that hint at knowledge of the future. These and other seemingly random events converge in a brilliantly constructed plot.

The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

2010 Caldecott Medal Winner is The Lion & the Mouse , illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney (Little, Brown and Company Books for Young Readers)

The screech of an owl, the squeak of a mouse and the roar of a lion transport readers to the Serengeti plains for this virtually wordless retelling of Aesop’s classic fable. In glowing colors, Pinkney’s textured watercolor illustrations masterfully portray the relationship between two very unlikely friends.

(May Hill) Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award - The Arbuthnot award honors an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, of any country, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site.

(Mildred L.) Batchelder Award - The Batchelder Award is given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

(Pura) Belpré Medal - The Belpré Medal honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

(Andrew) Carnegie Medal - The Carnegie Medal honors the producer of the most outstanding video production for children released during the preceding year.

(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Medal - The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

(ALSC/Booklist/YALSA) Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production -
The Odyssey Award will be awarded annually to the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

(Robert F.) Sibert Informational Book Medal - The Sibert Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.

(Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award - The Wilder Medal honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Other ALA Awards:

ALSC Childrens Notable Media Lists

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Schneider Family Book Award

Printz Award

Margaret A. Edwards Award

Best Books for Young Adults

Additional information about individual awards will be available at the ALA Press Kits page as the day progresses:

Another excellent source of information on award winners, past and present, is the Cooperative Children’s Book Center.

In addition to this morning’s announcement of ALA children’s literature award winners, recognition was also given to young adult literature and media with awards selected by members of YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association).

The YALSA Book Awards and Booklists page is here:

(ALA Book Awards Announcement, January 10, 2011 -
The Newbery and Caldecott Medals and Honor Book seals are property of the American Library Association and cannot be used in any form or reproduced without permission of the ALA Office of Rights and Permissions.)

No comments:

Post a Comment