Friday, March 9, 2012


State Superintendent Tony Evers will recognize nine projects with his "Standing Up for Rural Wisconsin Schools, Libraries, and Communities" awards on March 12 in Madison. Two of the awards will go to the following projects that involved libraries:

Baby Time, Toddler Time, and Rhyme Time are outreach programs linked to the Weyauwega-Fremont School District’s 4-year-old kindergarten (4K) program. The Weyauwega Public Library and Neuschafer Community Library in Fremont host these programs to provide academic, developmental, and social enrichment for children 4 years of age and under. The libraries introduce other services for children and adults, creating habits of literacy that last beyond children’s school-age years. In conjunction with the programs, the school district offers formal services to 3- and 4-year-olds who qualify for special education services as well as outreach for parents to help them identify their child’s needs so they start school ready to learn. Accepting the award will be Traci Zietlow, 4K teacher in the Weyauwega-Fremont School District.

Edward U. Demmer Memorial Library and Three Lakes School District Story Hour Reading Program began in 1963 to introduce reading and provide socialization activities for the community’s youngsters. When the district began its kindergarten program in 1967, Story Hour lowered the minimum age requirement to offer literacy skills to younger children. In 1971, the Edward U. Demmer Foundation provided funding to construct a new library building, and Mrs. Demmer suggested dedicating the lower level to facilitate Story Hour. For nearly five decades, thousands of children have had their lives enriched through the sing, read, and play adventures offering during Story Hour. Story Hour takes place weekly during the school year both at the library and at Sugar Camp School, with 15 to 20 children participating at each venue. Adult programs are offered concurrently with Story Hour to further serve community needs. Funding for Story Hour comes through the collaboration of the Three Lakes School District, Demmer Memorial Library, and the towns of Three Lakes and Sugar Camp. Accepting the award will be Janet Dixon, library director for Demmer Memorial Library; Charlotte Horant, story hour director; Vicki Reuling, president of the Demmer Memorial Library Board of Trustees; Dianna Blicharz, representative from Three Lakes School District and member of the Demmer Memorial Library Board; and Tom Rulseh, member, Three Lakes School Board.

Information about all the awards is at
(Channel Weekly, March 8, 2012)

No comments:

Post a Comment